Makinde Declared Winner Of Oyo Gov. Election

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has been declared the winner of the governorship election in the state by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Makinde, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the election, polled 563,756 votes to defeat his biggest challenger, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress, who polled 256,685 votes. 

Makinde is one of the members of the G-5 or Integrity Group which was against the presidential candidate of their party, Atiku Abubakar.

Three members of the G-5, Governors Samuel Ortom of Benue, Okezie Ikpeazu of Abi and Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu lost their bids to go to the Senate in the February 25 election.

Post a Comment