After sack by NURTW, Lagos govt appoints MC Oluomo to head motor parks, garages

The Lagos government has named a 25-member committee to oversee the affairs of all motor parks and garages in the state. 

Jubril Gawat, senior special assistant to Babajide Sanwo-Olu, governor of Lagos, made the announcement in a statement on Thursday.

Musiliu Akinsanya better known as MC Oluomo, sacked chairman of the state’s chapter of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), is the chairman of the committee, while Sulyman Ojora is the deputy chairman.

Taiwo Olufemi Salaam is the secretary while Hakeem Odumosu, former assistant inspector-general of police is the liaison officer between the government and the committee.

Other members of the committee are Olayiwola Lemboye, Mustapha Adekunle, Ganiyu Shittu, Mukaila Runsewe, Sulyman Yusuf, Mufutau Mutiu, Yinka Hassan, Sunday Ogunleye, Moshood Omojowa, Ismaila Aigoro, Ibrahim Yusuf, Akeem Tijani, and Omolabake Adelakun, Kazeem Hassan, Wasiu Amole, Ganiyu Ayinde, Anthony Adeboye, John Owolabi, Saburi Salami, Ibrahim Onitiju and Odusanya Gbenga.

Members of the committee are expected to report to the ministry of transportation.

“This is in fulfilment of the Government’s promise to ensure that events in the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) are not allowed to threaten law and order,” the statement reads.

“The Government has, therefore, exercised its constitutional powers to ensure that no vacuum, which can disrupt the peace of our dear state, is allowed to exist in the parks. This is a duty we owe all Lagosians and visitors.”

The development comes about 24 hours after the national leadership of the NURTW sacked Akinsanya as the chairman of the Lagos chapter of the union.

The union had also announced the dissolution of the administrative council of the Lagos chapter.

In March, the NURTW national leadership suspended MC Oluomo over alleged misconduct, insubordination and incitement.

Owing to the suspension, MC Oluomo announced the decision of the state chapter to withdraw its membership from the national body of the NUTRW.

Post a Comment